4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2012 8:24 PM by ignatius13

newbie problem with new objects and tools.

ignatius13

in chapter 4 of the after effects essential training series from Lynda.com in the section about controlling animation with the pick whip. when he applies the null object the red bar immediately populates (correct usage?) the timeline to the right. when i apply the null object it's hidden to the left, under all the layer info, and i need to drag it out into view.

ive found that whenever i have a problem, e.g., im using a tool and nothing is happening, it always comes down to this same thing: the layer is not with everything else and i need to drag it out into view.

not only am i new to mac, but im only marginally literate and a total newb to anything more advanced than iphoto, any advice would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: newbie problem with new objects and tools.
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I'm not understanding what you are asking.

If you have a layer in the timeline, a null, and the parenting column is visible you simply click on the pickwhip next to the layer and drag it to the name of the null layer. The Parenting box now says that Layer 1 is connected to Null 1.

Now, when you move the null, the layer will move.

• 2. Re: newbie problem with new objects and tools.
            ignatius13 Level 1

Rick Gerard wrote:

I'm not understanding what you are asking.

If you have a layer in the timeline, a null, and the parenting column is visible you simply click on the pickwhip next to the layer and drag it to the name of the null layer. The Parenting box now says that Layer 1 is connected to Null 1.

Now, when you move the null, the layer will move.

i understand what they do and how to set them up.