28 Replies Latest reply on Jul 17, 2012 5:01 PM by Bo LeBeau

Black Becomes Gray Only When Image Placed

hpg1

I am new at InDesign (CS5) and having a problem.

I have the output set to rich black etc and have a file with pages that have an RGB 0,0,0 black background.  When I put text on a page it seems to export to pdf with a jet black background.  However if I place a .jpg image on the page and then reexport the exact same page the background will turn to dark gray not black.  Remove the image and it exports as black again.  The picture can be quite small but yet the entire page packground goes dark gray.  What gives?  I can't figure it out.  Any help appreciated.

TRhanks.

Howard

• 1. Re: Black Becomes Gray Only When Image Placed
          Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What is your Transparency Blend Mode (found under the Edit menu)—RGB or CMYK? Do you have overprint preview turned on (under the View menu)?

Choose Window > Output > Flattener Preview? Turn on Highlight: Transparent Objects. Do you see anything in pink (transparent)?

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Black Becomes Gray Only When Image Placed
            hpg1 Level 1

Transparency Blend Space is Document RGB.  Overprint Preview is off.

Ah, I don't know what it means but when I do what you say with the Highlight TransparentOobjects all the pages that come out a bit gray when converting to pdf all have the same transparent object on them that is highlighted in pink.  Why does that small transparent object make the whole page background lighter than it should be?  Any ideas how to fix it?  You found the unifying cause!

Howard

• 3. Re: Black Becomes Gray Only When Image Placed
              Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Well, I'm trying to work it all out from your description.

Another question: What PDF export setting did you use when you created the PDF file? I'd guess you picked PDF/X-1a or PDF/X-3, right?