24 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2013 2:51 PM by GraeMagruder

Spot inks not represented correctly problem

CML326

Hello,

I am a major novice with using indesign and I am fumbling my way through editing a manual, but I am having problems with some spot inks with pictures and I haven't a clue what it is talking about.

the message says:

" Spot inks 'PANTONE Process Cyan C' and 'PROCESS Process Black C' cannot be represented correctly within InDesign.  The inks will color separate correctly, but will appear gray on screen and in composite output."

The images are also really blurry and just not right, and hoping that by fixing these spot ink things that will sort itself out.

PLEASE HELP ME!!

Thank you

Louise

• 1. Re: Spot inks not represented correctly problem
          rob day Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Why are you specing a process color as a spot? You can make a cyan or black swatch and not use a spot color at all:

Screen shot 2012-07-18 at 7.36.00 AM.png

• 2. Re: Spot inks not represented correctly problem
            CML326 Level 1

The manual was already put together by professional graphic designers, and this is a second edition, and so I have been asked to do edits, which text edits I worked out how to do. but the pictures were pixilated from the start, and now I am trying to sort it, and it comes up with that message which I don't know how to fix.

I tried going into the swatch options, and changed it from spot to process earlier, but it didn't make any difference and still came up with th message.

• 3. Re: Spot inks not represented correctly problem
              Eugene Tyson Adobe Community Professional & MVP

As Rob says, you don't need to have these as Spot colours - just add a new swatch and make sure it's set to Process. Then you can have 100% Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, or Black - no need for spots here.