7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 19, 2012 3:38 PM by jpny

Premiere CS6 Hangs when Importing Video from P2 Camera

DavRW2012 Level 1

I just bought Premiere CS6.  I am a Final Cut Pro refugee, running Mac OS Snow Leopard.

So far (day 1) I am having three serious problems, one major, one less so, and one intermediary.

First, when I try to import video off my P2 camera using the Media Browser, Premiere hangs.  When I force quit, a dialog box briefly pops up saying that a "serious error" has occured.  If I can't load my video into Premiere, this is a serious problem.

Is this a known issue?

Second, when I view the contents of my P2 card in the media browser, the order of the clips is totally jumbled.

If I can get the media browser import function to work, is there a way to view the clips in the order in which they were shot?

Third, I tried to "ingest" my clips through Prelude, which just copied the whole arcane folder structure of the P2 card onto my local hard disk.  I could do this in the Mac OS Desktop and I really don't see the point of Prelude.  I would rather not navigate the arcane P2 folder structure, and I need something that will take my video out of Panasonic's .mxf wrapper file.

I've noticed that I can drag the .mxf files directly into Premiere, but is there a way to import my video that will also extract the files from the .mxf wrapper, so that I can also open the files in other software?

I downloaded the Premiere CS6 updater but it didn't help.

Together, these issues represent serious defects that cripple my ability to use this software.

• 1. Re: Premiere CS6 Hangs when Importing Video from P2 Camera
          Jim_Simon Level 8

copied the whole arcane folder structure of the P2 card onto my local hard disk.

That is the way Adobe software works.  Use Finder to copy over the entire card before you begin working.

• 2. Re: Premiere CS6 Hangs when Importing Video from P2 Camera
            shooternz Level 6