8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2012 7:15 AM by RjL190365

Advice needed: Moving from mac to pc - pc specs.

Yvette.k

Hi all,

This is my first post. I have been using FCP on a mac for a few years now but its time for me to upgrade. I want to upgrade to 64bit, and also move away from FCP. I have decided that premier would be best for me, and am trying to figure out what is the best/most suitable pc I can get for my budget.

I am considering the following Hp Pavilion pc.  I've always used mac but can't afford a new one, and feel a little out of my depth when it comes to pcs. Any advice/reccomendations would be appreciated. The specs for the Hp Pavilion are below.

ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-2600 processor (3.4 GHz, 8 MB L3 cache)
      Operating SystemWindows® 7 Home Premium 64-bit
      RAM8 GB DDR3
      Graphics cardNVIDIA GeForce GT 545 with PureVideo® HD technology
      Hard drive2000 GB + 2 internal HDD bays
      Optical disk driveBlu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner + 2 external optical drive bays
      Memory card reader15-in-1 memory card reader
      USB2 USB 3.0, 8 USB 2.0
      Modem/EthernetIntegrated 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN
      WiFiWireless LAN 802.11 b/g/n
      Video interface1 DVI (VGA via adapter), 1 HDMI
      Audio interfaceOnboard / Beats audio console, High Definition Audio 7.1
      Expansion card slot3 PCI-Express x1, 1 PCI-Express x16, 1 MiniCard
      Keyboard & MouseWireless keyboard and mouse
      Accessories includedWireless keyboard; Wireless optical mouse; HP Win7 Media Center Remote Control

• 1. Re: Advice needed: Moving from mac to pc - pc specs.
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Several weaknesses in the system you mention:

• HP, so costly
          • i7-2600 instead of the i7-2600K
          • only 8 GB RAM
          • lousy video card
          • 2 TB boot disk, an utter waste of space

Since it appears you want to buy instead of build, contact Eric at http://www.adkvideoediting.com/