4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2008 3:35 AM by UnholyJesus

Photographer slideshow

Tony Heagren
      Hi all,

I'm a good designer (I like to think) but a dreadful actionscripter. (is that a real word) ?

I'm building a site for a photographer. I want him to be able to edit as much of it as possible.
      Front page needs a rolling slideshow of 10 / 15 images.
      I'd like him to be able to edit the slideshow by dropping in new images into a folder called "collage" via ftp.
      These images would be called 1.jpg / 2.jpg / 3.jpg etc..

I need a way (and have no idea how to acheive it) of calling the images into a movie clip which will show each image for a couple of seconds and then move on to the next - hopefully with some kind of graceful transition.
      Don't need start-stop controls, thumbnails or anything else - just a succession of images called from the server in number order. 1.jpg followed by 2.jpg etc.,

Site is on a Unix server.

All and any help, advice or pointers to tutorials very much appreciated.

Best wishes
      Tony0.

PS - English is my first language, French my second then ragged Italian and Spanish - followed by Actionscript. Speak slowly, be kind and gentle.
        • 1. Re: Photographer slideshow
          clbeech Level 3
          alright Tony - this isn't too hard, you can get it. but to read a directory residing on the server you'll need a relatively simple php document or another server-side script. and secondly, you should not name the files beginning with a number, most scripts don't like that kind of thing, they could be any name given the criteria you outline here, the name doesn't matter because you will be 'reading' whatever files are in the directory.