4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2012 10:31 AM by lazycarpenter

Image size scripting help...

lazycarpenter Level 1

Greetings,

I am a novice scripter and need help with a script I am building for a 1000+ page catalog I am working on.

In short I have multiple ID CS3 documents with over 1000 images all set to a particular size (.25" for example).

I need to resize each identical link to a specific size throughout the whole document  - for example:

acme_logo.eps ---> original size H = .25"    need to resize all elements named acme_logo.eps  to H = .35"

Obviously doing this one by one is very time consuming and a script would be very helpful.

Below is my VERY rough start:

app.activeDocument.stories.everyItem().PageItem.images.Link.everyItem().name  = "acme_logo.eps". size = ".35 in);

Can anyone help or offer insight? Your help is greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Image size scripting help...
          absqua Level 4

I think this will do what you want:

var doc = app.activeDocument,
              i, l, link, target, pageItem, height, scale, matrix, newHeights;

app.transformPreferences.whenScaling = WhenScalingOptions.APPLY_TO_CONTENT;
          doc.viewPreferences.horizontalMeasurementUnits = doc.viewPreferences.verticalMeasurementUnits = MeasurementUnits.POINTS;

newHeights = {
              "acme_logo.eps": 0.35,
              "IMG_1334.jpg": 0.75,
              "IMG_1335.jpg": 1,
              /// ...
          };

for (i = 0, l = doc.links.length; i < l; i++) {
              link = doc.links[i];
              if (link.name in newHeights) {
                  pageItem = link.parent.parent;
                  height = pageItem.visibleBounds[2] - pageItem.visibleBounds[0];
                  target = new UnitValue(newHeights[link.name], 'in').as('pt');
                  scale = target / height;
                  matrix = app.transformationMatrices.add({horizontalScaleFactor: scale, verticalScaleFactor: scale});