3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2008 5:24 AM by peterent

DateChooser returning value/text from xml

Tobias Bergström
      Im a beginner with Flex.

How do I connect an external xml to a DateChooser so every time a date is picked a value/or text (different for different dates) from the xml is passed into a textArea.

Greatful is this could be shown with the entire code since I'm rather new to this.

Thanks in advance!
        • 1. Re: DateChooser returning value/text from xml
          peterent Level 2
          Each time a date is picked on the DateChooser an "change" event is dispatched. By having a function handle the change event, the function can extract the information from the XML and move it to the TextArea.

<mx:DateChooser change="handleDatePick(event)" />
          <mx:TextArea id="output" />

I'm going to assume your XML data is in a variable called "xmldata"; you'll have to figure out how to populate it.

The following code goes into a <mx:Script> block in your MXML file:

private function handleDatePick( event:Event ) : void
          {
          var chooser:DateChooser = event.target as DateChooser; // just to make it easier to understand the code
          var d:Date = chooser.selectedDate; // the date the user picked. becareful, it can be null if the person picks the date already selected
          if( d == null ) return;
          var node:XML = xmldata..(@date == d.toDateString()); // this will take some explanation below
          output.text = node.value; // the item in the XML node you want to see in the TextArea
          } // done

OK, Let's assume your XML data looks like this:

<list>
          <node date="Thu Jan 31 2008"><value>This is a test</value></node>
          <node date="Thu Feb 14 2008"><value>This is Valentine's Day</value></node>
          </list>