7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2012 8:25 PM by josephs51576386

Importing/exporting question

owiseone61755 Level 1

I'll start by saying I'm new to video editing and adobe premiere pro.  Forgive me if what I ask has been asked repeatedly before but I can't find an answer to my question through keyword searchs of google and these forums.

That said I have a canon vixia HF M31 HD camcorder.  I thought it was 1080p but investigating on the web it seems like my frame rate settings are 60i and 30p but 30p is really 30i??  I'm a little confused about this.  I've been recording in what the camcorder tells me is 60i at 24Mbps but when I put the files on my windows 7 PC the file description and adobe tell me the video is 29.97 fps. 

I'm using adobe premiere pro CS6.0.1 and adobe media encoder CS6 6.01.31(64 bit) in a windows 7 environment.  8 gig of DDR3 ram, 3.18 ghz intel dual core processor overclocked to 3.50 ghz and an nvidia 570 gtx video card.

So when I set up a new project I originally thought my video was 1080p at 60i so thats the preset I used in adobe.  So my first question is, why is my camcorder saying 60i and my pc telling me its 30(not sure how to tell p or i from file description) and two if my sequence settings are in fact wrong because its really 1080i 30i do I need to start the project over?  I've done all my edits already.  Is it simply a matter of copy and pasting the edits/music into a new sequence with the appropriate settings?