10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2012 6:04 AM by sinious

iPad apps using Flash

velvetelvis70

Hi - Hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction. My question is - Can iPad and iPhone apps be created solely with Flash alone (inclusive of tilting and touchscreen features) and submitted to the iTunes store? I have used Flash quite sparsely since Flash 8 so haven't really followed the debate around Flash and Apple devices.

I'm working on an App for iPad along the lines of a children's interactive book. I'm a trained Illustrator and don't think it would take me long to get up to speed again with Flash, however if Apps absloutely require coding in Apple's SDK then I have the problem of finding or paying someone to make an App from my work (otherwise, I can manage the whole project myself).

...and if it is possible to create Apps entirely within Flash - does anyone know of a good starting place for tutorials specifically for this?

Thanks a lot.

• 1. Re: iPad apps using Flash
          esdebon Level 4

Yes, you can create apps to iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad).

Use the template to create iOS apps included in Flash CS5.5 o r Flash CS6, then compile to iOS to generata a ipa file.

You need pay to Apple to get a developer membership to compile apps and upload to the iTunes Store.

Remember you need create your app with optimized code,

• 2. Re: iPad apps using Flash
            sinious Most Valuable Participant

If you want a true e-book then Flash won't create this for you. It can create an app that acts like a book but you can't put the book into something like iBooks.

You may want to consider this alternative to make a real interactive e-book that lets you focus more on content then coding:

http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-publishing-suite-family.html

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: iPad apps using Flash
              boudewijndanser Level 1