15 Replies Latest reply on Aug 4, 2012 9:29 AM by Dirk Becker

Viewing a page from another Software

Dieter_

Hi,

one of my customers uses InDesign for making the layout of a magazine. Each issue is an own document.

In the magazine there are pages for ads. Ad orders are entered for invoicing in some other (invoicing) software and for the layout in InDesign. Now when a client is on the phone and asks 'can I place an ad half a page in size on page 10 of the December issue?' the invoicing software(!) should be able to look up that page in the InDesign document. Means some window should open showing what is on that page 10 already, so that one can see if there is enough unused space to place the half page ad.

I'm a complete newbee to InDesign, maybe there are scripts or calls the invoicing software could use for that, giving document name and page no. to InDesign and thus opening the page or whatever.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Viewing a page from another Software
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

Uh, keep a recent PDF at hand maybe?

If you want to use InDesign to browse through the latest version, all you have to do is

(1) open the right document;

(2) jump to the correct page.

-- I don't see how a script could help you with that (*)

(*) Or maybe, if you could double-click a script that scans your hard disk for all issues, shows you a drop down list of the ones it finds, lets you select one and then prompts you for the page number. Personally, I wouldn't need such a script because all of my work is stored in separate folders for (a) publisher, (b) client, (c) journal, (d) issue -- and sometimes (e) version. So it's a one-way walk straight to "the latest version".

• 2. Re: Viewing a page from another Software
            Dieter_ Level 1

Thanks, Jongware,

open the Document and jump to the page takes some time and the client is waiting on the phone.