12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2012 6:11 AM by sinious

How can Adobe convince the world that Flash is not dead?

Factgathering2010 Level 1

Not sure where this message belongs, so please feel free to direct me to a more appropriate forum if one exists.

I am a college professor who uses Flash ActionScript to teach the fundamentals of computer programming to undergraduate communication students. Flash is the ideal platform for demystifying computer programming. The program's animation tools provide a friendly on-ramp to the world of ActionScript. Students love it.

During the past year, the decision to abandon support for the Flash Player has led many people in our industry to conclude that Flash is about to become obsolete. Sadly, many technology and web design columnists have echoed the "Flash is dead" mantra without actually digging beneath the surface.

As people who read this forum are surely aware, the Flash Player is just one of two possible Flash runtimes. Adobe AIR also delivers Flash content, and Adobe has no intention of abandoning AIR.

Adobe is not doing a good job of explaining the situation to the general population. If you look through the comments thread related to the Flash Player on Google Play, you will see that many people misunderstand what is happening. Most people think that Flash, in all of its forms, is nearly dead. I have spoken with skilled web developers and graphic designers who mistakenly believe that Flash is down for the count. Yes, there is an Adobe Roadmap for Flash Runtimes, but most people don't read or understand these sorts of white papers.

Flash is not dead. But if Adobe doesn't do a better job of getting the message out to the general population, I fear that our colleagues, students, and clients will steer away from anything potentially Flash-related.