11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2010 12:17 PM by mmadams22

How to create a Transparent Gradient

suchintha
      Hi,

I'm new to graphics and fireworks. Trying to create some graphics for a web page. I want to create a series of images for the header row for each page. Basically what I'm trying to do is create a colored gradient over an image. So one side would be the dark gradient color fading to the right. As the color fades, the image underneath would increase in visibility. The left side of the image would be of the gradient color and right side would be the visible image.

I'm hoping a transparent gradient over an image would be the best. Ideally want to swap the images under the tranparent later so I can create similar images for each page.

I looked through some tutorials, but couldn't really figure out how to do this. Is there an easier way to do this? Any documentation or links you can point me to will be appreciated.

Thanks.
        • 1. How to create a Transparent Gradient
          pixlor Level 4
          That should work.

- Start with your image.
          - Make a rectangle over your image to fill the size you want.
          - In the Properties panel, change fill drop down from "None" to "Gradient>Linear."
          - Select that drop down again and select "Fill Options..." then click the "Edit..." button.
          The little squares above the gradient allow you to set the transparency. The little squares below allow you to set the color.
          - Set the left side to your color and the right side to transparent (Opacity 0).
          This will give your rectangle a vertical linear gradient. (Don't panic.)