6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2012 4:00 PM by bt4design

Indesign CS5.5 Relink Script needs help

bt4design

Hi, I'm trying to relink images in an InDesign CS5.5 file to a different server using a script. This is what I have so far, but when I run the script I get errors and can't relink because "Either the file does not exist, you do not have permission, or the file may be in use by another application". Does anyone know how to make this script work? I'm fairly new to scripting.

Here is the script I have:

tell application "Adobe InDesign CS5.5"

tell document 1

set linkList to links

set errInfo to "" -- We'll display error if we can't relink an item

-------

repeat with x in linkList

if (x's status) is not normal then -- I usually check for any link that has an error

-- This should only return an AppleScript path with ":" separators

set linkPath to (x's file path) as string

-------

if "Volumes/Calendars_2013 FPO" is in linkPath then

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "Volumes/Calendars_2013 FPO"

set linkPath to (linkPath's text items) -- Create a list of text items

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "Volumes/Calendars_2013"

set linkPath to (linkPath as string) -- Concatenate with new path

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "" -- Reset TIDs

-------

try

-- Need to make our string (path) into an alias path

relink x to alias linkPath

-------

try

update x -- This can be helpful

end try

on error err

-- We'll store link name if error occurs

set errInfo to (errInfo & return & x's name)

end try

end if

end if

end repeat

-------

-- If an error occurs while trying to relink, we'll display it

if (count errInfo) > 0 then display dialog ("Can't relink:" & errInfo)

end tell

end tell

--Hector

• 1. Re: Indesign CS5.5 Relink Script needs help
          -hans- Level 4

Hi,

'Volumes/...' is a posix path. file path on a mac returns hfs path. try hfs: "Calendars_2013 FPO:" instead of posix: "Volumes/Calendars_2013 FPO"