4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2012 8:05 AM by peter minneapolis

Id for techn. maintenance docs?

hkwint

Hi forum members,

Sorry for the question not being very specific and open to discussion, but I'm pretty new to Adobe software for creating documents.

Let me first introduce our department:

Currently, we have a team of about 12 engineers who maintain ~120 MS Word documents of 20-100 pages with 'service' instructions / settings tables, 'fault finding help' etc. for machines in our factory. This includes tables, instruction lists, and lots of "picture-arrow-text". We're mostly on Windows 7 / Word 2007, though some of us are still on XP / Word 2003.

Of course, MS Word has some limitations. For example, the layout of pictures / arrows / notes relating to those pictures is always a problem. Also, it's hard for users (mechanics) to quickly find the right page / paragraph. It's hard to add 'navigational buttons' in Word, link from the text to pitures, do the layout of lists etc.

Of course, in these days, training funds are limited. I have suggested FrameMaker 11 for content editors and 'PDF viewer' for users, though an old colleague of mine who worked with both Fm and Id said Id is easier to learn, and if our engineers want to make minor changes, they could work without much training with Id while Fm would be harder.

Trend is to use more pictures and less text, and that's where my ex-colleague told Id is 'easier'. The content should be 'easy to find' for users, so we're thinking about HTML-like menu's: a kind of 'hierarchy' of files who can be 'interlinked'. So, a TOC linking to different chapters, and those chapters containing multiple paragraphs. Some paragraphs might contain multiple 'pages', for example multiple 'error explanation'.