3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2012 3:50 PM by [Jongware]

Changing the style of certain words in a textbox

KuuKuuSon

Hi, I am completely new to Adobe scripting (new in general as I just took a class on VB in the spring) but I was interested in underlining a certain portion of content in a series of text boxes.  I have 690 serial numbers that look similar to this:

TFA - 064/249 - 0753 - A

I want the underlined portion shown above underline.  I have eight chapters that have their unique style so while they all have a serial number, they are in different fonts with different kerning etc (all currently with a text style applied to the text box).  Also to clarify, if it helps, the underlining doesn't always start at the same character position in every serial number.  In this example, the underlining starts at the 17th character and some might start in as little as the 14th character. 

The last reference guide I did, I made a copy of the underlined portion of the data in a seperate text box, applied the style (including the underlining element), and cut and pasted each underlined portion over the ununderlined portion (as I cut and pasted every serial number into a seperate text box.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance!

p.s. Any websites with some basic tutorials on scripting would be great so I can contribute more effectively here.

• 1. Re: Changing the style of certain words in a textbox
          love_all Level 1

HI,

Could you please give more clear picture on your text part because if you want to find a four digit number enclosed with hyphen is not big thing we can go with GREP option.

But I feel u need more !!!!!!!!!!!

Regards,

love_all

• 2. Re: Changing the style of certain words in a textbox
            KuuKuuSon Level 1