8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2016 4:23 AM by LeoMari

Copy anchored object with specific object style to new layer

Axenza

Hi there

i'm new to scripting and been trying to adjust the script below, but without result.

This script i found on Indisnip:

var myItems = app.activeDocument.allPageItems;

var myDoc = app.activeDocument;

var foundObjects = Array();

for(var i = 0; i < myItems.length; i++){

if(myItems[i].parent instanceof Character){foundObjects.push(myItems[i]);}

}

if(foundObjects.length > 0){

try{var myDestLayer = myDoc.layers.add({name:"Anchor/Inline Duplicates"});}

catch(_){myDestLayer = myDoc.layers.item("Anchor/Inline Duplicates");}

for(var i = 0; i < foundObjects.length; i++){

var newDuplicate = foundObjects[i].duplicate(myDestLayer);

newDuplicate.geometricBounds = foundObjects[i].geometricBounds;

try{newDuplicate.graphics[0].geometricBounds = foundObjects[i].graphics[0].geometricBounds;}catch(_){}

}

}

It copy's all the anchored items to a new layer 'Anchor/Inline Duplicates'.

But i only want the anchored objects with a specific object style to be copied. Something like 'appliedObjectStyles.name == "OS-name".

Can someone help me with that?

thx

Arne

• 1. Re: Copy anchored object with specific object style to new layer
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

(untested!) Change the lines that iterate over found objects and add inline objects, starting at line #5, to the following

if(myItems[i].appliedObjectStyle.name == "OS-name" &&
          myItems[i].parent instanceof Character){foundObjects.push(myItems[i]);}
          }

-- the if-clause has been changed here; the second line is added.

To highlight code in a post, you can use the "Advanced" editor, so you can apply Syntax hi-lighting. It makes Javascript ever so slightly more readable

• 2. Re: Copy anchored object with specific object style to new layer
            Axenza Level 1

Hi Jongware

thx for this quick reply!! Wow, that was fast

The script works fine!