34 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2013 4:03 PM by Jim_Simon

CS6, long exports even when pre-rendered

Cincy Dave Level 1

Admittedly I'm a bit new to Premiere.  And I'm hoping there is some novice aspects to how the sequence is setup and what settings are chosen on export.

The problem I'm having is that even after I've already rendered all the effects in my edit, can watch it at full quality in real time playback, when I export it takes as long as it did to render the sequences in the first place... if not longer.  For example a 8 minute video is looking at 1.4 to 2 hours for an export with "Match Sequence Settings" checked.  And yes I did try "use previews" as well.

My confusion is that, doing this same task in FCP takes seconds. I've worked in ProRes422 and exported ProRes422 in maybe 10 seconds for a 5 minute edit.

Here... I'm assuming that my sequnce settings aren't quite right somewhere.  Any help is greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: CS6, long exports even when pre-rendered
          Jim_Simon Level 8

I've worked in ProRes422 and exported ProRes422

That may be the issue.  PP can't "use previews" when going from a QuickTime preview to a QuickTime export, so you get the full render each time.

• 2. Re: CS6, long exports even when pre-rendered
            Cincy Dave Level 1

Thanks.

I'm not as concerned about working in, or exporting to quicktime.  My main goal is to find what settings I need to work in so that when I'm done editing, I can quickly export a single clip that is a Master file that can then, at my leisure be converted to whatever format I need in Media Encoder.

Do you have any suggestions on what settings the scene should be or how to set the preview settings to achieve this? (working on a Mac)

• 3. Re: CS6, long exports even when pre-rendered
              lasvideo Level 4

Jim- "That may be the issue.  PP can't "use previews" when going from a QuickTime preview to a QuickTime export, so you get the full render each time."