14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2012 6:49 AM by the_wine_snob

Playback problem after inserting title over video clip.

Ed012 Level 1

I am new to Premiere Elements 10 and have a problem playing back a video clip in .mov format after inserting a default still Title. The clip falters and halts for a few seconds before resuming.

The total length of the clip is 4m 43 secs, 1280 x 720; 29 frames/sec. 191mb.

Is the problem in the file size? A similar problem occurred when adding transitions between stills but I solved that by resizing down from 10mb.

• 1. Re: Playback problem after inserting title over video clip.
          Jeff Bellune Adobe Community Professional

[Moved to Premiere Elements Forum]

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Playback problem after inserting title over video clip.
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Have you rendered your timeline whenever you see a red line above your clips on your timeline?

Press Enter. When the timeline is rendered and your red lines are green, you should have smooth, clean playback.

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Playback problem after inserting title over video clip.
              Ed012 Level 1

I wasn't aware of the indications on the timeline that you have brought to my attention; I am using the downloaded pdf manual to learn the basics and it is not, as you know, very user friendly. I will look for those indications and hopefully solve the problem.

Does that also apply to the problem that I had with the fade transitions between stills; was the file size not the problem?

• 4. Re: Playback problem after inserting title over video clip.

Yes.

And if you find the downloaded manual unsatisfactory, I hope you'll consider my book -- a step-by-step look at every tool in the program and how it works.

http://Muvipix.com/pe10.php

• 5. Re: Playback problem after inserting title over video clip.
                  Ed012 Level 1

Hi Steve