6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2008 2:15 PM by ericbelair

Help with Dynamic Dashboard Application

ericbelair Level 1
      I have been developing in Flex for a few months now. I have created a dynamic Dashboard/Mashup application using Flex. However, I have one small problem. As new sub-applications are made available for this application, I have to edit the MXML files and recompile. I am wondering if anyone has any good ideas on how to facilitate this type of dynamic application/sub-application architecture.

Right now, I basically have 3 sub-applications - let's call them App1 (App1.mxml) which is a DataGrid, App2 (App2.mxml) which is a Line Chart, and App3 (App3.mxml) which is a Pie Chart. A user can put one, two, or all three sub-applications on the page, so it has to be built dynamically. I retrieve their layout from the database via a WebService, then loop through the collection of sub-applications they have saved. To accomplish this, I do somethign similar to what is displayed in the attached code.

This works exactly how I need it to. However, if I want to create a new sub-application - say App4 as an Advanced DataGrid - I have to edit this code to add a new Case statement for it, and then recompile. I'd like to avoid that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
        • 1. Re: Help with Dynamic Dashboard Application
          SujitG Level 2
          Try the web tier compiler. You can find more details in this url
          http://livedocs.adobe.com/labs/flex3/html/apache_1.html
          Hope this helps
          • 2. Re: Help with Dynamic Dashboard Application
            ericbelair Level 1