3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2012 1:54 PM by B_Kaufman

Rescuing unbalanced footage

Nikon D90 Gent II Level 1

Fairly recently I became actively involved with Adobes Lightroom 4 which was an eye opener for me especially in the area of correcting, coloring and in essence rescuing less than optimal or intended shots. As a videographer and editor, I'd really be pleased to learn how to execute similar tasks in Premiere Pro CS 5.5 or 6.0 ( the latter is brand new to me). Is there a reasonably straight-forward equivalent as detailed below for Prem Pro?

I can't get the same quality result with the highlight/shadow video effect controls. Not even close!

I shoot in a very challenging environment with my footage quality literally being affected with every passing cloud overhead through a long window/wide slit located in the ceiling. White balance, lighting and color accuracy especially.

It causes the following for example. Main scenarios:

a)  My frame is composed of levels of exposure that are proper, under or over exposed.

Mission: To boost the shadows and take out the overblown highlights/glow. More even levels across the board-entire spectrum.

b) Balance is generally fine accept for one or two areas which are highly overexposed.

Mission: To reduce the excessively highlighted area(s) only (which are caused by overexposure/light saturation) to a more acceptable level.

LR 4.1 has a great, quick and easy fix (in a lot of cases) accomplished with a couple of sliders that balances the elements into more balanced level, then you boost the whites, tweak the blacks & presto proceed from there. It's not a miracle process, however it's proven to be a tremendous aid thus far.

A couple of examples that I need sage advice on how to rectify:

a) Light shines on pianist and his sheet music. Sheet music is glowing and out of white balance whereas every else is fine.