21 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2014 10:53 AM by Ann Bens

Suddenly non supported file format

SirQsDad

My HDD where the project files reside crashed and after a few day's work I manage to get everything back.
      Premiere Pro CS6 Crash. First "this project contained a sequence that could not be opened" And now "The file has an unsupported compression type". First issue solved but not the file system one. This is on a project I've been working on for a few months. Other software like VLC can use the files so the files seems to be ok. The problem file format is m2ts untouched from cam. And it have been working for a long time before this crash. Dedicated this weekend for the final editing of this project and now.... Sitting here with a beer and cant do nothing.....

Anyone having a few good cards up their sleeves?

Using the cloud.
      AMD 9950 X6
      16GB RAM
      a zillion GB HDD's
      Gainward GTX 570 1280MB

Windows 7 x64

Message was edited by: SirQsDad

• 1. Re: Suddenly non supported file format
          SirQsDad Level 1

Adding that I have the last uppdates and is activated.

• 2. Re: Suddenly non supported file format
            the_wine_snob Level 9

How did you "recover" from your HDD crash - complete install of the OS and then PrPro, or from a drive image, or similar?

Sounds like you are now missing the H.264 CODEC, where you had it before.

VLC Player, like some others, contains many common CODEC's, so they do not need to be properly installed at the system level. An NLE program, like PrPro needs the CODEC's installed at the system level, to be able to use them.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Suddenly non supported file format
              SirQsDad Level 1

It was a only the HDD where the projects resides. The film files and OS and PrPro is on other drives.
              It was a error in MBR that made the mess. So I did a RAW copy of the trive and then it all came back.