8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 3, 2012 11:16 AM by Peter Spier

"re-resource" an isolated .indd file (automated process?)

hotwheels222 Level 1

hi all.

i am trying to edit a .indd file that i have in a folder over here (along with a pdf and a jpg version). i am new to the software and it is obvious to me that i should be saving something more than the indd.

is there a good way to re-associate the backup data so that it is in the same folder as this indd file - or how does this work exactly?

i mean, it opens OK but if i want to edit something it would be good to have the associated data. at the same time - when i put it together i was on a deadline and working fast and my images moved around quite a bit. so these images are all in a folder somewhere and i suppose i could manually go through and find each of them but i would really prefer not to spend all this time doing this.

can anyone help me out on this question but also tell me how i should handle this in the future?

Thank you in advance,

jon

• 1. Re: "re-resource" an isolated .indd file (automated process?)
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

When you Place images youare linking to them where they are currently located. ID stores a pointer to that location, and as long as you don't move the linked files ID will have no problem finding them.

That said, if you run the Package command from the File menu, ID will create a new folder inthe location of your choice and make a copy of both the .indd file and everything you need for output, and update the links inthe copy  to the package location. There is also a command in the Links panel menu to "Copy Links To..." which will makes copies of all th elinsk andupdate the pointers without packaging.

• 2. Re: "re-resource" an isolated .indd file (automated process?)
            hotwheels222 Level 1

hi peter.

thank you as always.