1 Reply Latest reply on Sep 7, 2012 8:22 PM by Serafina2000

printing 12 x 18 (Mac)

hotwheels222 Level 1

hi all,

apologies for the multiple posts but i am new to ID and new to mac and i am trying to get moving after having to do a fresh install of both my OS's.

can anyone walk me through (or point me to a url that will do this) setting up a PRINT SETTING for 12 x 18 paper on an epson 1100 printer? i have worked in Windows previously with CAD based drivers and such but i have never figured out what is going on with the mac and i am constantly seeing different dialogs for this for different software i suppose.

i tried to get into the ID software to do this but the "custom" setting was greyed out and all the other listings did not include a 12 x 18. also, the original is 24 x 36.

thanks for any help. this has had me clutched for quite awhile.

- jon

• 1. Re: printing 12 x 18 (Mac)
          Serafina2000 Level 1

Jon -

It's been a while since you posted, but I'll take a stab at helping nonetheless. It's tough to give you complete specifics for your exact printer, but here are some basics for printing a customized paper size from InDesign... (I have ID 5.5, so I'm using that to give these instructions, but the concept is the same for CS3 and up).

File–>Print.
          The "custom" setting is grey or unavailable until you set up a new setting...so let's do that.
          Choose the printer you wish to use - in your case, the Epson 1100.
          The PPD should fill in automatically, if not, you can choose the appropriate PPD (the print driver for your printer).

Now you need to go through the windows on the left side of the screen to set up the rest of your print options.

General:

Choose the number of copies, page range, etc. If you have two pages in a spread and want to print them together, check the "spreads" box. I think the rest of this page is self-explanatory.

Setup: