11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2012 8:36 PM by Jim_Simon

Rendering Chroma 4:2:2 with color space 0-255

Smith655

Hello Everyone.

Just as a warning I'm fairly new to video editing, so I will probably not say this right. I have a screen recording that I used FRAPS to collect, and then I packaged it into an .AVI container w/ a lararith codec , and a 24bit RGB color scheme in video dub. I have then opened and edited that video in Premiere Pro and want to export it. The problem that I'm having is screen recording has a LOT of color between 0-16 and 235-255, so any broadcast color space I use makes the video look awful. I was wondering if anyone knows how I can render out with a 0-255 color space and a decent chroma subsampling (my guess is 4:2:2).

Thank you everyone for your help.

• 2. Re: Rendering Chroma 4:2:2 with color space 0-255
          Smith655 Level 1

I don't think that I worded my question very well.

I have a source video that is 1.2 GB for a 50 second clip that I am trying to share with friends. It looks great (obvsiously) but that's not going to work as it's FAR too large. I want to achieve a decent compression on the video, however, all of the codecs that I am using render in studio luma (16-235) instead of computer/digital luma (0-255). This is making my video look washed out, which is bugging the hell out of me. I am looking for a way to render out into a well supported container (avi, mpeg2, mov, etc) with a codec that supports a computer luma range. It would be even better if It supported 4:2:2 chroma subsampling, but for right now the most important thing for my sanity and the health of my computer (man that window is looking awfully enticing right now) is to figure out how to render out with the computer luma range.

I also have AE as well just in case that turns out to be a necessary program in order to be able to do this.

Thank you for your help

• 3. Re: Rendering Chroma 4:2:2 with color space 0-255
            Smith655 Level 1