6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2012 3:35 PM by josephs51576386

Probably a stupid question about cropping a video..

photonewbiebw Level 1

OK, so I shot an interview with a black background and once I went to edit it, I noticed a red object in the far right corner. Is there a way I can add black over this object or crop it out? I know this is a stupid question, but I'm new to video and editing in general so I thought it wouldn't hurt to ask.

• 1. Re: Probably a stupid question about cropping a video..
          KGCW Level 1

Yes you can crop it out using the crop effect. In the effects tab search for "crop" to find it, drag and drop it on your clip, go to the effect control tab of your clip and you'll find the controls for the crop filter.

• 2. Re: Probably a stupid question about cropping a video..
            the_wine_snob Level 9

There are several ways to accomplish what you want.

KGCW has talked about the Crop Effect.

Depending on exactly where the object is, and whether the camera was locked down, it might be possible to duplicate your Clip, place it above your initial Clip, then offset it a bit (Motion>Position), with the Fixed Effect>Motion>Position, and then apply the Garbage Matte to that offset duplicate, effectively Cropping out everything, but a small "patch" from the existing background. Note: if the edges of that Garbage Matte are too hard for you, you could create a soft-edged Track Matte, and use that to hold out the rest of the offset duplicate.

Another method, and depending on where, and how large the offending item is, would be to go to the Fixed Effect>Motion, and use Motion>Scale to increase the size of the Clip (do not do too much Scale, or quality will suffer). You might also need to do a bit of Motion>Position, to get that red object behind the Video's Frame Size. This will effectively Crop the object.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Probably a stupid question about cropping a video..
              the_wine_snob Level 9