12 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2012 8:37 AM by Davizual

Resizing PNG with Pixel values; Save as artboard name and pixel value

Davizual Level 1

Hello,

first off, I have never written a Javascript before and I am attempting to.  I have been reading like mad to wrap my head around the Extendscript Toolkit (ESTK) in CS6.  I see the awesome potential but I am concerned my idea may not be completely possible.  That's why I thought I would ask the experts here.

I have a client who needs cursors and icons for apps that are saved out in multiple, transparent PNG sizes and the output filename needs to reflect that name. So for example, I have 2 square artboards, one contains a red car, the other contains the same car but in green, and I want to save both of those as 96x96 pixels, 72 x72 pixels, 48x48, 36x36, and 24x24 (5 different sizes).  I would like the naming scheme to be taken from the artboard name (car_red, car_green) and the pixel value of each size, so the final name would be "car_red_0096x96.png", "car_red_0072x72.png", etc., etc.

The first thing I noticed is that there seems to be no SaveforWeb object in the ESTK.  I discovered ExportOptionsPNG24 which is nice, but it seems to only give a sizing property based on percent (horizontalScale, or verticalScale).  I would like to use the script to make any size artboard the exact pixel dimensions I need, and the percentage scaling property will not allow this, so is there a way to enter in pixel values and not percentage scale values?

This of course leads me to my next question: I was hoping to get the script to, at the press of a button, export the selected artboard to all 5 sizes, with a naming scheme that uses the artbaord name as a prefix and the pixel size as the suffix.  I was hoping to use the pixel value in the code to apply to the suffix

Is any of this possible?

Gratefully,

Dave

• 1. Re: Resizing PNG with Pixel values; Save as artboard name and pixel value
          Muppet Mark Level 5