5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2012 7:48 AM by the_wine_snob

Best settings for shooting sports

spj5kylie

For shooting sports (indoor volleyball and dance competitions) what would the best camera settings, PrE 10 project settings and share to DVD settings be to use? I'm fairly new to PrE and I just picked up a nice used Panasonic AG-HMC150 (AVCHD) for most of the footage, and will also be using a GoPro Hero2 (MP4), so I will have mixed file formats. I don't really need Full 1080 HD, and was told that 720/60p would be better to shoot sports, as I will be doing slow-motion/Time Stretch on some clips. Since I'll be burning the project to a DVD, what would the best Project Settings and Share settings be, and is there any advantage to shooting in 720/60p? (I have a Early 2011 MacBook Pro Core i7 2.3GHz) -Sam

• 1. Re: Best settings for shooting sports
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

Unfortunately, you have posted to the Tip & Tricks sub-forum, which is basically a repository for How To articles. Few will see you post here, so I am moving it to the main PrE Forum, where many more can see the post, and likely help you.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Best settings for shooting sports
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

60p video has 60 frames per second, twice as many as 60i, in which every two interlaced frames combine to form one frame for a total of 30 frames per second. So, yes, it might be better to catch the action.

And now the not-so-good news:

1. Premiere Elements 10 will work with 1280x720 60p -- but not necessarily with Go Pro footage. Go Pro cams shoot in a codec that might not work well in Premiere Elements. So no guarantees on your Go Pro footage.

2. Your Panasonic may shoot AVCHD 1920x1080 in 60p -- but Premiere Elements can't work with Full AVCHD 1920x1080 60p. It can work with 1920x1080 60i, though.