6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 19, 2012 1:39 PM by Twin Town

Three monitor system?

fullhead

I'm an editor with a technical setup qustion. I work with Premiere Pro CS5 but am moving to 6 shortly. I want to install a three monitor system (program monitor, one for timeline and meters and one for bins. I have a Nvidea 2000 Quadro 2000, a Matrox RT.X2 which I just realized has a DVI port after using it for years with an NTSC monitor and an ATI Radion HD3870. I have two HP LP2465 24" HD monitors and a Dell U2312HM 23" HD monitor that I'd like to use as the program monitor. I do all corporate - no broadcast. I'd like to know the best way to set up the components that I have and and if there are any I don't need.

• 2. Re: Three monitor system?
          KJerryK MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Moved to hardware forum

• 3. Re: Three monitor system?
            Studio North Films Level 3

Hi,

The best option would be to purchase a geforce 600 series card, This giving you better performance and better potential with CS6, (this depending on your system spec)

Other option is to use the quadro 2000 you have to run the 2x hp monitors via display port, and purchase another quadro card that uses the same driver to run the 3rd monitor. just a basic quadro would do.

RTx.2 is a waste of time with CS6,

• 4. Re: Three monitor system?
              Twin Town

Can you mix Geforce card and Quadro card? As in, keep the Quadro 2000 for its capabilities and then buy a cheap Geforce 610 card to use for the 3rd monitor?

• 5. Re: Three monitor system?
                John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Probably not... as I remember (been awhile since I read and saved the links below) the only way to get Premiere to work with 2 cards is if they are in the same family, and therefore use the same device driver

2 cards and 3 monitors http://forums.adobe.com/thread/875252

-and http://forums.adobe.com/thread/876675

• 6. Re: Three monitor system?