What is the functionality of  "Shift +/"    = Mark Clip in timeline

ie . How is it used / useful?

• 1. Re: Shift +/
          Jim_Simon Level 8

Don't know.  Never use it myself.

• 2. Re: Shift +/
            Jon-M-Spear Level 4

Very useful...

Provided a track is selected, the clip under the playhead is selected.

• 3. Re: Shift +/
              Jim_Simon Level 8

Meh...easier to just click the clip.

• 4. Re: Shift +/
                Jon-M-Spear Level 4

Ah, but that doesn't mark it with in and out points.  You save 4 keystrokes this way.

• 5. Re: Shift +/
                  shooternz Level 6

So once you select it in this manner as opposed to Jims "click the clip" ...whatc do you do with it differently?

• 6. Re: Shift +/
                    Jon-M-Spear Level 4

Well that depends upon how you edit.

I frequently want to wrap a clip with in and out points.. For example, if I have a green screen master on track two and want to drop in a background on track one of exactly the same length, i use shift/.  Likewise if I want to play a specific clip only, I use shift/ followed by ctl shift space bar. 

For me it saves so many clicks and speeds the whole process up.

• 7. Re: Shift +/
                      needles27 Level 3

Another use:  Since Warp Stabilizer is so funky and it sometimes necessitates the need to export intermediary clips and re-import, I apply WS to a clip, set the in/out points on just that clip with the keystrokes listed above, then go to export the in-out from AME.  If you have a ton of clips to do, the quick addition of in to out on a clip is helpful.

• 8. Re: Shift +/
                        Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You can use it for a Four-point-edit.You do not have to click on the clip just place the playhead over the clip.

• 9. Re: Shift +/
                          shooternz Level 6

Thanx all.

• 10. Re: Shift +/
                            Jim Curtis Level 3