Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Frame Random Shuffle without repeating

Contributor ,
Sep 05, 2012 Sep 05, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Am beginning an eLearning project (I'm a retired social worker aiming in this lesson to help others) which includes building in AS3 an exercise called the GNAT (Go No/Go Association Task). The GNAT is a test tool that measures people's subconscious attiudes by having them choose (or not choose) by  pressing/touching the spacebar (in this lesson) when they see a specific target word.

For the first part of the GNAT, a practice exercise: 16 target words (presented one each in its own frame), taken randomly with no repeats from a list or array of 18 words. Frame needs to time out in 1000 ms. If the person reacts by pressing/touching the spacebar when they see a word, it is either scored +1 (depends on the word) or nothing. If pressed, an X or 0 displays for 100 ms (wrong or correct, depending on the word) and then goes immediately to the next random (no repeat) frame and word. If not pressed the timer timeout at 1000 ms goes to the next random (no repeat) frame.

Whew! For my relatively modest AS3 skills, not sure how to set up a model for this and implement in script. Could also be one dynamic text box in a single frame instead of multiple frames, with the text (target word) changing. But still would need a timer to advance and if pressed, an over-ride of the timer to advance, plus scoring.

If I can get a basic model working, then I can try to build the main test exercise tool which has 9 target words but these are recycled randomly in a 3:6:3 ratio totaling 70.

Major challenge!!!

I've tried various random no repeats using frames but can't get the most basic version to work.

I would appreciate any help getting started. How best to set this up and begin?

Regards,

saratogacoach

TOPICS
ActionScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines