7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2008 9:35 AM by RoboColum(n)

Two or more contributors to one project

Bibits
      Hello,

I am a technical author who writes online help and manuals in Norwegian. Our program is also translated into Swedish, and will have online help and manuals in Swedish - possibly eventually also in English.

All text will (probably) be contained in one project - and different kinds of help documents in different languages will be created from one single source, using conditional build tags. I imagine I shall have "parallell" help topics in each language, tagged with a "language" tag. I shall edit the Norwegian help topics, and my Swedish collegue would keep the Swedish ones up to date.

However, how do I solve the problem of conveying to the Swedish translater what changes I have made to the Norwegian help topics?

I have read on the forum that RoboHelp does not have "track changes" facilities, and I have read how one could do things manually - but that requires an attention to detail that I feel is nearly impossible in a large project.

Can RoboSource Control be of any help? Or any other source control tool?

Could someone working in a similar manner to what I do give me some tips?

Isabella
        • 1. Re: Two or more contributors to one project
          RoboColum(n) Level 5
          Hi Isabella.
          Can you tell us how you normally work? Do you update the Norwegian topics and then tell your Swedish colleague to update the Swedish topics? And what level of detail do you need to provide them with? Do you tell them exactly what needs changing (e.g. Step 5 needs to be changed to say x or just a more generic Topic A needs updating to reflect enhancement B)? Is it possible that both of you will need to be working on the project at the same time?