20 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2012 3:45 PM by satekkk

Page Numbering.

satekkk Level 1

I want to use the numbering in InDesign but the numbering starts on the cover, how do i chance it so it starts on the first spread?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Page Numbering.
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Select the page where you want numbering to start in the pages panel and right-click. Choose Numbering and Section Options, and in the dialog start a new section and set the start number to 1. ID will complain that you alread have a page 1, so do the same thing on the front cover, but change the numbering style to anything else so ID can differntiate between the two sets of numbers.

• 2. Re: Page Numbering.
            satekkk Level 1

I dont know if im doing this wrong but all that seems to do is serperate so theres two page 1s and the covers has say Roman Numerals on? Sorry to sound like and idiot im kind of new to indesign

• 3. Re: Page Numbering.

That's what's supposed to happen. Every page page has both an Absolute page number (starting at 1 on the first page ofthe file and running consecutively without repetition to the end) and a logical page number, which you can assigne through the section and numbering dialog. It's the logical number that appears when you use a page number marker.

Are you really asking how to make the page number appear on the page?

• 4. Re: Page Numbering.
                satekkk Level 1

It doesn't matter i have found out how to do it, you don't have to be so condescending

• 5. Re: Page Numbering.

I didn't mean to be condescending. I just wanted to clarify what you were trying to do. Many new users are not familiar with all of the terms in ID so they don't always phrase questions clearly and sometimes we don't end up answering what a user was really asking becasue we've misinterpreted what they said.

Was the information I gave you on sectioning useful?

1 person found this helpful