14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2012 6:57 AM by the_wine_snob Branched to a new discussion.

CS6 Windows 7 Not Responding White Screen Issues

jefbak Level 1

photo.JPG

See that white screen and spinning blue ring? That is the story of my life using our brand new Windows 7 PC with Adobe Premiere CS6 since I have set it up and updated all products involved to the latest versions.

Let me get the usual up front things out of the way. I have been using Adobe Premeire since 1998. The othe Adobe production suite apps are running rock solid and Premiere seems to be the only troublesome app. I have updated Premiere with the latest updates. The Windows 7 Machine is more than up to spec with a fast processor, lots of ram and hard drive space and using a Nvidia Quadra 2000 card with 2 monitors connected using display port.

So, the freezes happen under kind of random circumstances as is often the case. In the case of the screen capture included here, I was copying the Motion effects from on clip on the timeline to another clip on the timeline. And it just froze, I couldn't force close it in this case (sometimes I can). Also just closing Premeire can take a longer than usual amount of time (sometimes minutes or just plain freezes for good) while startup is always quick. I mention this because the system is using an SSD/hard drive boot and progam setup (Intel Rapid Storage Technology) that I am using for the first time.

Since I just purchased this Dell system and software (production suite) I will probably end up calling Adobe, but before I go though all the hoops involved with a support call I would love any input or ideas for community first. Thanks!

• 1. Re: CS6 Windows 7 Not Responding White Screen Issues
          Harm Millaard Level 7

White screen is a Windows signal that the OS is busy. It has nothing to do with Premiere Pro. It is better to tune the system and removing/disabling all excess services/processes or improve the hardware.