6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 25, 2012 11:24 PM by kasq

Need to capture multiple image paths for responsive design when only one will be displayed at a time

sodhouse

I'm new to CQ and am having enough trouble following the documentation on image components as it is (why is there no master reference for all this?). I have a requirement where we need to capture three versions of an image and put the URLs into three attributes of a tag. The appropriately sized image will be selected via JavaScript based on the browser/device capabilities. I need to know how to capture those images when seemingly only one at a time can be dropped onto the page. Or perhaps there is a more CQ solution to this.

• 1. Re: Need to capture multiple image paths for responsive design when only one will be displayed at a time
          kasq Level 3

Hi,

You need to customize image component. I mean selected image is a asset in the repository and each asset by default has 3 rendtion generated when the image is uploaded in the dam.

For example when you upload image.jpg file into the DAM, standard workflow is launched and after a while inside the repository (see paths) are created following renditions:

/content/dam/project/image/image.jpg/jcr:content/renditions/cq5dam.thumbnail.140.100.png

/content/dam/project/image/image.jpg/jcr:content/renditions/cq5dam.thumbnail.319.319.png

/content/dam/project/image/image.jpg/jcr:content/renditions/cq5dam.thumbnail.48.48.png

This process can be customized by changing /etc/workflow/models/dam/update_asset.html workflow and modifing "Thumbnail creation" step by adding in the Process tab -> Arguments field new values for new rendition. So for example if you add there [400,400] new rendition will be created in the path

/content/dam/project/image/image.jpg/jcr:content/renditions/cq5dam.thumbnail.400.400.png