10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2012 2:01 AM by purushoth_j

Find path name

purushoth_j

Hello All,

I am new to photoshop scripting and i am learning. I want to write a code to "find the particular path with a alert box whether its is available in the file or not" i was trying and confused. i used "else" method but i couldn't get it right.

#target photoshop

var doc = app.activeDocument;

if (app.activeDocumen.pathItems.length > 0) {

app.activeDocument.pathItems[0].name = "Path 1"

} else {

alert ("There is no path name: Path 1", title, errorIcon)

}

also tried this one

#target photoshop

var doc = app.activeDocument;

if ( doc.pathItems.length > 0 ) {

app.activeDocument.pathItems.getByName('Path 1').select();

} else {

alert ("There is no path name: Path 1", title, errorIcon)

}

pls help me!

• 1. Re: Find path name
          Michael L Hale Level 5

Here is one way to do what I think you are asking.

try{
              var myPath = app.activeDocument.pathItems.getByName("Path 1");
              alert('The pathItem: '+myPath.name+' was found');
          }catch(e){
              alert('Could not find pathItem');
          }

• 2. Re: Find path name
            Muppet Mark Level 5

Mike, you beat me to this with the same answer… Only when I tried a test with no path of this name it does not catch the error… My mind is fuzzy at best but I thought this did work with the ESTK now or have I lost the plot completely? No such element…

• 3. Re: Find path name
              Michael L Hale Level 5

That is strange Mark. For me it works in either ESKT or straight from Photoshop. It even works if there is no open document.

• 4. Re: Find path name
                Muppet Mark Level 5