8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2012 11:01 AM by George_Johnson

Value Entered Does Not Match the Format of the Field

Bryan Baumgart

Hi,

I am new to JavaScript and development of PDFs with JavaScript.  I have done some research on this error and understand why it is generated.  Currently I'm trying to create a PDF with some basic calculations in it that require division.  I have the fields all formatted to numbers to represent currency.  I am using the simplified field notation calculations to generate my results, and I understand if I remove the number format from the fields then I won't get the "The value entered does not match the format of the field [ field box ]"

I would prefer not to remove the format features, because these values need to be represented as dollar amounts.  Can someone please help with or direct me to a solution of putting together a simple custom script calculation?  Or provide another solution for my problem.  Any help is greatly appreciated. Below is an example of the calculation I'm trying to perform.

Box1   Box2   Box3  Box4  Box5  Box6

Box1 / Box2 = Box3

Box4 / Box3 = Box5

Box2 - Box5 = Box6

Box1, Box2, and Box4 are known values.  Box3, Box5, and Box 6 are calculated

So if 

Box1 = $40,000.00

Box2 = $600.00

Box4 = $20,000.00

Then

$40,000 / $600.00 = Box3 66.6666

$20,000 / 66.6666 = Box5 $300.00

$600.00 - $300.00 = Box6 $300.00

• 1. Re: Value Entered Does Not Match the Format of the Field
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

If the calculation involves division by zero, what do you want the field value to be set to? A field is commonly set to blank when this happens, but you have a choice.

• 2. Re: Value Entered Does Not Match the Format of the Field
            Bryan Baumgart Level 1