4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2012 1:32 PM by Ngaio9

Select only the objects within a selection marquee

Ngaio9 Level 1

I am a new user of Illustrator CS5, switching from Freehand. I am trying to find out if there is a way to select only the objects within a selection marquee? In AutoCAD you can make a selection window from left to right and only those objects entirely within the window are selected. If you window from right to left all objects that are "crossed" or touched by the window are selected. Is there a similar technique in Illustrator?

Currently I have to select the objects, then go back and hold the shift key to deselect the object I don't want, or put objects on different layers then lock layers to prevent extra objects getting selected.

In AutoCAD, my primary program, you simply draw a selection window, left or right, depending on what your next step would be. No special tools or toggles or thinking ahead, it's just the primary selection process and very intuitive.

I posted a discussion on the Illustrator forum several months ago which is still generating comments so this seems to be a tool that would be appreciated by many users. Someone posted a script but it hasn't worked for me yet.

Thanks for anything you can do to solve this issue.

• 1. Re: Select only the objects within a selection marquee
          Cleanshooter21 Level 1

Could you post a link to the other post?  Or just post the script that the other user posted?

• 2. Re: Select only the objects within a selection marquee
            W_J_T Level 4

Ngaio9 wrote:

Is there a similar technique in Illustrator?

It has already been answered in your other thread. No, not inherently.

Ngaio9 wrote:

I posted a discussion on the Illustrator forum several months ago which is still generating comments so this seems to be a tool that would be appreciated by many users. Someone posted a script but it hasn't worked for me yet.