8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2012 6:09 PM by Dave LaRonde

Converting AI files to shapes then extruding - lost my colors

Deaner77 Level 1

Green-Swoosh.png

Gray Swoosh.PNG

Gray Swoosh 2.PNG

OK...I'm new to AE. I brought in some artwork created in AI. The goal is to extrude each of the paths slightly different heights to create a 3D logo in AE. When I convert the AI file to shapes in AE, I loose all my green color gradients.

So first...does AE not like gradients from AI? If AE discards the color info because they are gradients, How can I fill a shape with a gradient?

Secondly, How can I select each of the different paths and extrude them individually? Do I need to save each path out of AI and import them one by one? ...Seems like a long way around....

Thanks!

Dean

• 1. Re: Converting AI files to shapes then extruding - lost my colors
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

So first...does AE not like gradients from AI? If AE discards the color info because they are gradients, How can I fill a shape with a gradient?

Think about it: Gradients in an AI file are the illusion of 3D, not 3D. What you want is kind of an oximoron - you want to use "realistic" rendering based on unrealistic gradient shading. Therefore the answer is that you will have to modulate thjis stuff by tweaking the light and material properties. At this point AE doesn't support any texture mapping that would allow you to just slap on those gradients again.

Secondly, How can I select each of the different paths and extrude them individually? Do I need to save each path out of AI and import them one by one? ...Seems like a long way around....

Similar to the above: The different colors in teh AI file are the illusion of different materials, not different materials. Yes, you need to import and colorize them separately therefore. Generally you need to adjust your thinkling when getting into this 3D stuff. It's a whole different process from working with 2D illustrations.

Mylenium