5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2012 2:50 AM by Fuzzy Barsik
      • 1. Re: Choosing the right iMAC/PC
        Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The current iMacs do not support OpenGL rendering. I would pick one with the highest VRAM you could afford, but an iMac is, at this time, not a very good choice if you want to use CS6 and open GL assisted ray trace rendering. 

For any other AE work in HD the iMac will work just fine.

Who knows when or if the iMac's graphics adaptor will be included on Adobe's list of supported GPU devices.

Judging from the inclusion of an INVIDIA GPU in the new MacBook Pro R, there may be a supported card in the next generation iMac.

• 2. Re: Choosing the right iMAC/PC
          RafaelJohansenMusic Level 1

Thank you very much for helping me!

I'm still a student, and I don't have too much experience in filmmaking. But I'm very interested and I learn fast.

So in my lack of knownledge about "open GL ray trace rendering" I really wonder if that's one of the things I want to use this first couple years. Or is that mostly used by the profis and people who really work like editors? Well, to be more specific, I only ask you if "open GL ray trace rendering" is nesessary for the commonly used articulations and plugins for After Effects, and for a person on my stage?

I don't want to spend much more than 1700 $ on a computer. So what would you recommend me to look after? firstly I struggle to deside between iMac and Windows. And if you say windows is best for me, what processor and graphics card would you recommend?

(I'm primary a musician and compose film music. So therefor I love to make film! http://soundcloud.com/rafael-johansen )

Thank you, again:)

• 3. Re: Choosing the right iMAC/PC
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP