19 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2012 5:58 AM by Noel Carboni

Changing Text Color of jpg

whittem2005

Hi there

I am a web designer and regularly get sent logos etc from clients. More recently I have been sent a jpg image black and white of a girl with a wedding veil on. There is some handwriting text to the left which is a white colour. As I dont have access to the original psd file I am trying to find an easy way to change the text colour to a pink the client has chosen. I am using adobe photoshop cs6 and have tried using the colour swap option under image tab but it just seems to change the colour to gray and not the pink i have selected.

I know this should be a very easy job and would be grateful for anybodys feedback on this as the most effective way to make this change.

Cheers

Paul

• 1. Re: Changing Text Color of jpg
          c.pfaffenbichler Level 9

Please post (part of) the affected section of the image.

• 2. Re: Changing Text Color of jpg
            whittem2005 Level 1

Hiya

Having some problems uploading as not on home pc just now but its simply a jpg black and white ladnscape with woman wearing veil on right and some nice handwriting text on left in white. Therefore, as I say its just the text I need to change the colour of but because i don't have the original psd file its not quite as easy.

Cheers

Paul

• 3. Re: Changing Text Color of jpg
              whittem2005 Level 1

Meant to say you can see a similar image on the website at: www.madaboutveils.co.uk. Its not the same image but the writing and wording is the same.

Cheers

Paul

• 4. Re: Changing Text Color of jpg
                Noel Carboni Level 8

Your path to success is likely going to involve selection of the characters.  Look into the Magic Wand Tool, though you may have some trouble around the very edges of the characters.  Work at a high resolution.  I'm not sure but the Refine Edge function may help with this.

-Noel

• 5. Re: Changing Text Color of jpg