6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 24, 2012 6:10 AM by Robert.Ralph

[CS5.5/6] - XML / Data Merge questions & Best practice.

Robert.Ralph

Fellow Countrymen (and women),

I work as a graphic designer for a large outlet chain retailer which is constantly growing our base of centers.  This growth has brought a workload that used to be manageable with but two people to a never ending sprint with five.  Much of what we do is print, which is not my forte, but is also generally a disorganized, ad-hoc affair into which I am wading to try to help reduce overall strain.

Upon picking up InDesign I noted the power of the simple Data Merge function and have added it to our repetoire in mass merging data sources.  There are some critical failures I see in this as a tool going forward for our purposes, however:
      1) Data Merge cannot handle information stored and categorized in a singular column well.  As an example we have centers in many cities, and each center has its own list of specific stores.  Data merge cannot handle a single column, or even multiple column list of these stores very easily and has forced us into some manual operations to concatenate the data into one cell and then, using delimiter characters, find and replace hard returns to seperate them.

2) Data Merge offers no method of alternate alignment of data, or selection by ranges.  That is to say:  I cannot tell Data merge to start at Cell1 in one column, and in another column select say... Cell 42 as the starting point.

3) Data merge only accepts data organized in a very specific, and generally inflexible pattern.

These are just a few limitations.

ON TO MY ACTUAL DILEMMA aka Convert to XML or not?

Recently my coworker has suggested we move toward using XML as a repository / delivery system that helps us quickly get data from our SQL database into a usable form in InDesign. 

I've watched some tutorials on Lynda.com and havent yet seen a clear answer to a very simple question: