4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 22, 2012 2:43 PM by Peter Spier

Help With Newspaper Layout

AlejandroAdobe

Hi, I'm new to InDesign. I'm setting up a Newspaper and would like it to be the same size of the Onion. Does anybody know the dimensions for the Onion? Also, would I just punch in that exact width and height when first setting up the document? Thanks.

• 1. Re: Help With Newspaper Layout
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Are you doing a newspaper for print, or an online publication?

• 2. Re: Help With Newspaper Layout
            AlejandroAdobe Level 1

Right now I am doing the print version, but I will eventually be exporting a PDF version for online. Will those have to be separate InDesign files? Because I notice that the first and last page will have to be on the same landscape page for printing, but the online version will obviously be exported as separate pages. Any advice would be great. Thanks.

• 3. Re: Help With Newspaper Layout

The size of your layout for print is going to be determined by how you print. It doesn't matter what size Onion prints on a large Web (roll-fed) press if youare printing a limited run on your office copier or at a local job printer. What size sheets does your printer handle? That's the information you need before you start.

There's no point in designing a broadsheet if the press handles tabloid (and probably vice versa).