6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2012 8:04 AM by the_wine_snob

Getting a Pixelated h264 .mov file

povesper

using APE 10 with an Asus a53e(i5core, 6gbmem,750gb hdd, win7 premium, 2.5ghz) 

AND im shooting video with a 550D/t2i  1920x1080 24fr. also i use a c920logitech webcam.

Anyways i'm having a problem compressing videos to a quicktime format(which the 550d files are already .mov to begin with). using the standard settings for a HD video upload say for the site "Vimeo" or youtube.

Bitrate set at 5,000-8,000

H.264

my tests so far have been compressing videos from 251mb to 60mb

i've tried every combination of settings i could think of... and the videos always come out pixelated in many areas(certain colors and areas out of focus). certainly NOT HD quality.

However i started playing around with compressing it as a windows media file with bitrate settings around 10,000, and it looks great!!

What am i missing here?

• 1. Re: Getting a Pixelated h264 .mov file
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

What settings did you select when you set up your Premiere Elements project?

The quality of your output will only be good if your project settings match your video specs.

Once you have that right, it's a cinch to select output settings for HD Vimeo or YouTube.

• 2. Re: Getting a Pixelated h264 .mov file
            povesper Level 1

Well if i shot the video @ 24 fr i would select NTSC> DSLR 1080p 24 and if i shot it at 30fr...i would select NTSC> DSLR 1080p 30 @ 29.97 (since original file says 29.97 in properties). I'll see if i can upload a small sample tomorrow to show what i'm talking about.

• 3. Re: Getting a Pixelated h264 .mov file
              povesper Level 1

also just to note...i do set my aspect to square pixels 1.0

field depth is progressive

i checked off "render at maximum depth" which is 24bit

• 4. Re: Getting a Pixelated h264 .mov file
                Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional