5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 24, 2012 1:31 PM by Peter Spier

Questions on using templates [CS3]

Eric/R

Greetings,

I'm trying to figure out the best way to approach an InDesign task, and my rank-novice-level experience isn't cutting it. Normally I'd read through a gazillion help pages and do a bunch of tutorials to try and teach myself enough to answer the questions on my own - but I'm a new parent (~2 months), so don't really have the time to take my usual approach; indeed, it took me several days just to write up this question and post it. So any help is *much* appreciated!

What I'm trying to do: create ~80 cards for a board game. Each will have similar layout, so creating a template file seems like the way to go. I've never worked with templates before, but doing so seems straightforward enough for things like text, or for an illustration which would be different on every card. However:

• Difficulty #1: Some cards are of one type - call it type A - while others are of type B. Several graphical elements are always the same for a given type, but are different for A vs. B. I'm sure there must be a simple way to say "this file uses all items for type A, and not B", but I'm not sure if this would be best done using different templates, different master pages, setting which layers are visible on an imported photoshop file, or some other technique. (Did I mention I'm a total novice with InDesign?)