5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2012 10:39 AM by yippikS

How to optimize exports for YouTube?

yippikS

Greetings! I am hoping someone can help me with a frustrating problem I'm having with Premier Pro CS5.5 and YouTube.  I've already tried YouTube support to try and fix it and am now about 95% certain that the problem is on my end, not theirs.

Also, please pardon what will quickly become clear is a lack of knowledge on my part; I'm a beginner when it comes to Premier.

So, the problem:

I am trying to create videos that will be optimized for viewing on YouTube, as this is the primary place in which they will be viewed.  The videos I'm uploading keep coming out squished.  Example:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CwJEwZdQAic&feature=plcp

This page of YT hints says that videos should be uploaded with a 16:9 aspect ratio.  Ok, no problem, I've looked up on the 'net how to make sure Premier is set to do that.

Here are the settings I'm using when I create new projects (and if these are, in fact, not actually what I want, please feel free to enlighten me--as I said, I'm new to this):

settings.PNG

I'm thinking that the problem may be arising when I export my video? Here's a cap of that for you:

exportSettings.PNG

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, so I thought I'd ask the community for help.  Any thoughts are appreciated!

• 1. Re: How to optimize exports for YouTube?
          shooternz Level 6

You are Exporting ( Outputting)  your HD Sequence  as an SD Movie  (ie 16: 9 to 4:3)

Check the AME H264 Export Settings and see if there is a You Tube Preset.

Tip : When using the Export Application (AME) take a look at the Output Tab. to check that things look right.

• 2. Re: How to optimize exports for YouTube?
            josephs51576386 Level 3