3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2014 8:02 AM by JustJ3n1ca

Animated gifs appear to have image bleedthrough in Internet Explorer 9

bernst@fastline.com Level 1

I have been using Photoshop on a Mac for several years to make animated gif files for our company website and for our customers as well and have never had a problem until recently. On some Windows computers, these files are now appearing with ghost images bleeding through from one frame to another. I have made sure that all layers that are not needed in a particular frame are turned off and I have tried various ways of saving the gif out of Photoshop but have had no luck. I did discover if I turned the option for transparency off in the Save for Web and Devices box the image bleed issue would go away, but then white lines appeared in my gifs instead. After doing some research it appears the image bleed problem is happening in the Internet Explorer 9 browser, but does not happen in any other browser I have tested - Safari, Firefox on Mac and Firefox on Windows. Has anyone run across this issue and found any way to resolve it? It's hard to explain to my customers that their files are fine when what they see on their screens is not. Thanks!

• 1. Re: Animated gifs appear to have image bleedthrough in Internet Explorer 9
          richardson_joel Level 1

I know this is an old post, but I'm currently having the issue as well. I first noticed it about 6 months ago.

I work on a Mac where everything looks fine, and the problem seems to only occur on Windows (I've seen the same issue in IE 10). And, my guess is that it has to do with transparency.

The "bleedthrough" seems to just occur with anti-aliased pixels. The white lines that appear are where the bounds of the text box are located — for me anyway.