12 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2012 7:45 AM by kglad

Sound playing issue

LanBanan88

Hi there! Im new to this, so please excuse me if I have done something incorrect. I am having troubles with sound on my flash game. The weird thing is, the sound plays perfectly fine when I test the scene but not when I test the movie. The previous scenes work fine and I have used the same coding and actions, but for some reason its just this scene.I am willing to send my file to anyone willing to help if it would help them understand what i mean. Please help!

• 1. Re: Sound playing issue
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

what code do you use to play your sound or, is your sound attached to a timeline?

• 2. Re: Sound playing issue
            LanBanan88 Level 1

Hi Kglad.

Thank you so very much for responding. I hope you can help! I have the sound attached on the timeline, I think. I just created a new layer then dragged the sound file from the library to the stage. On previous scenes the sound plays automatically, but for some reason from this scene onwards it does not. On the previous scene of this one, I have used the code for the "next" button:

on (press) {stopAllSounds();

}

I originally thought this was the problem because I am stopping all sounds, but it just doesnt make sense to me because I have the exact code on other scenes and the following scene plays sound automatically with no problem.

Would it be easier if I sent you the file?

• 3. Re: Sound playing issue

attached to frame 1 in the scene where you have your sound, add:

trace(this+" "+this._currentframe);

and test your swf.

do you see trace output AND fail to hear your sound? 

if yes, copy and paste the trace output and click the frame where your sound is attached and take a screenshot that shows that frame along with the properties panel.  attach that screenshot here, too.

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Sound playing issue
                LanBanan88 Level 1