5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 8, 2012 11:32 AM by Rick Gerard

MacBook Pro Retina, good enough for a few of After Effects? Or should I go for Windows Laptop?

The Dark Zodiac

Hello!

I'm now a college student ! And I'll need to get a new laptop We will be using it for CAD, MathLab etc.,

But I practice on AE, I'm no expert at all (i don't even know some of the controls and keyboard shortcuts), I do like 'opening titles', a bit of 'harry potter effects', etc. I'm really interested in the new Retina Display MacBook Pro (base model), it will be the first time I ever get a Mac if I go for it

But of course, the price is really high, so I have my doubts - the specs of the rMBP is not that superb - i think only the resolution is.

My question is, will the base model rMBP give a decent After Effects CS6 performance, or a significantly worse performance than Windows Laptops at it's price?

Thank your for your time

Please ask me anything so I can help you better to help me

• 1. Re: MacBook Pro Retina, good enough for a few of After Effects? Or should I go for Windows Laptop?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

It won't be "significantly" worse, but for the same price you could get 2 Windows laptops. Aside from the Retina display and the 650M GPU there is little that would make a MBP stand out. And most "serious" CAD programs run on Windows only, too, just FYI.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: MacBook Pro Retina, good enough for a few of After Effects? Or should I go for Windows Laptop?
            Greg Baber Adobe Employee