8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2012 8:16 PM by HowardMichels

RAM, HDD Questions on new PrPro CS6 build

HowardMichels

I have been reading almost everything on the Adobe forums for the past 2 months, but there are still a couple questions to which I cannot find answers; hence my post.

I am a hobbyist and edit AVCHD and HD only, not RED, and almost exclusively use only 1 camera.  I have been using PrPro since version 2, and my current quad-core Win 7 PC with only 8GB RAM and old nVidia card is just infuriatingly slow!

The following is my planned parts list for a new CS6 editing machine, and below that are a few questions to which I would be most appreciative of answers. 

Motherboard     Asus P9-X79 Sabertooth

Graphics Card     eVGA (Nvidia) GTX 680 FTW+, 4GB, Backplate

Slot Fan                     Azenx Blitzstorm BT-SC70BBL (for graphics card)

CPU                     Intel Core i7-3930K (expect to OC to 4.6-4.8)

RAM                     8GB x 4 sticks Gskill DDR3 1600, F3-1600C9Q-32GXM

CPU Cooler     XsPC Raystorm Ex420 water cooling kit (radiator mounted externally)

Power Supply     Corsair AX1200i 1200watt

C-disk, 6mb port     Western Digital, WD RE 1 TB, WD1003FBYX.                      Win 7, CS6

D-disk, 6mb x 2     (2) Western Digital, WD RE 1 TB, WD1003FBYX – RAID 0. Media, projects

E-disk, 3mb x 2     (2) Western Digital, WD RE 1 TB, WD1003FBYX – RAID 0. Cache, Pagefile

F-disk, 6mb     (2) Western Digital, WD RE 1 TB, WD1003FBYX.                 Scratch, Images

G-disk, 3mb     Western Digital, WD RE 3 TB, WD3000FYY.                        Export, previews

H-disk, 3mb     Seagate Constellation 3TB ST33000650NS (have)             Photos, docs, etc                           

I-disk, 3mb     Western Digital, WD RE 1 TB, WD1003FBYX. (chg BIOS to boot from this drive for “regular” use – MS Office, internet, etc.)

Questions: